Latest interface: 0.3.1
Latest system: 010
GarySmith
User

3 posts

Posted on 15 May 2014 @ 19:34
I originally posted this in the Nexenta support but it's not product specific and their support is slow.

Please forgive me in that I'm not a ZFS expert, so my lingo may be off.

Some time ago I had a VMware ESI server that had a Nexenta guest running ISCSI services for a few other VMware servers. This server had an 6 disk raid 5 array, with 1 hot fail over. Internally the VMware has8 512gb virtual drives assigned to Nexenta, which them chopped it up into 3 separate ISCSI drives.

At the end of November, that Nexenta instance hung (100%) and for some reason we couldn't get VMware to kill the instance, so we had to hard boot the machine. After it came back up the two separate disk instances that as had allocated (2 sets of 4 of the 512gb drives) both reported that one drive was suspect and wouldn't mount the drives). After doing an IRC chat for some time in one of the ZFS channels and attempted multiple recoveries on these virtual drives, on guy had me issue a set of commends to destroy and recreate the drive arrays, which I did, and of course, blank. I stopped at that point. The underlying data is there inside the vmdk's in some state. Talking to a few Sun people with limited experience, they said it's toast and to give up, but unfortunately for me, I'm more persistent than that.

ESXI 5 -> Nexenta -> iSCSI -> shared to 2 other ESXI hosts

The server was a super micro box, 8 1TB enterprise class drives, 12gb ram. The client machines were sun boxes with lots of CPU and ram.

The data. This particular server was used by friends and family for hosting their ideas and little things (like my mom's little shop, my SBS server for email, and about 8 years of family content and documents). Some of it's backed up, some is not.