Latest interface: 0.3.1
Latest system: 010
dearangelo
User

59 posts

Posted on 23 April 2014 @ 22:11
Hello friends, I have been running the ZFS for over six months now and I am very pleased with its stability. I am a windows man, user for many years, and my experience in Unix based systems is virtually none.
I have started with 9.1.006 and I have recently installed the 10.0.002, yesterday I decided to add an ftp service so I could access some files of mine, while I am away from my LAN, and so I tried downloading and adding the pure ftpd service, Nothing happened, I tried many times, the download procedure would try to start and it would stop at the same point, showing the very same screen without any additional info, as to why it is not downloading...etc...
any idea why it is not functioning? could it be something wrong that I am doing? In the past I have tried and successfully managed to download and install services like mc and similar.
Thank you for your time.
btw I restarted the machine, installing and moving onto the 11.0.001, but I manage to get as far as configuring shh password, and I could not install even mc from the services offered, nor I could add it using pkg_add, that I have managed in the past. How and under what path can I run the pkg_add utility?
Thank you much for your time!
reghards
angelo e
CiPHER
Developer

1199 posts

Posted on 23 April 2014 @ 22:24
Hello DearAngelo,

Nice to hear you're a 'Windows man' and have used ZFSguru with success in the past. You are exactly the target audience intended by Jason and myself. Those who can benefit from ZFS technology but may not have the skills to run an advanced UNIX operating system. ZFSguru empowers people of the likes of you to utilise the most advanced filesystem for reliable file storage.