Latest interface: 0.3.1
Latest system: 010
kimblo
User

7 posts

Posted on 21 January 2014 @ 14:47
Hello,

I've been using zfsguru on and off since a couple of years now, and I like it and I am very happy that jason have made it available for this "community", to use his own creation.
Thank you, Jason.

I'm not however very fond with how users have to install it.
The year is 2014 which I bet everyone here is aware of, so the question is:
Why do http://zfsguru.com/doc/quick still refer to using a CD as the main installation medium?

Two MAJOR open source/free software projects (pfSense and NAS4Free) are based on FreeBSD and they both offer the option to install from USB.

I've put myself in the position that I don't have access at home to anything related to the CD/DVD area and that have worked pretty well since -07 or -08, except from a couple of cases, one which is related to installing zfsguru.
I bet this will hurt in some eyes that I, a simple end user complains about something which I'm not even contributing to myself. But let's face it, this community is growing and thus the demands will actually change.

CiPHER
Developer

1199 posts

Posted on 21 January 2014 @ 14:59
Hi Kimblo,

You are right; installing using USB should be easier.

But you can already install from USB. You can boot ZFSguru inside a Virtualbox machine and pass your USB-stick to the virtual machine by clicking on the USB icon and selecting the USB stick. Then ZFSguru should 'see' the USB stick as normal harddrive. Install ZFSguru on that drive as you would normally do. Now exit the Virtual Machine and cleanly detach the USB stick. Now you have a bootable ZFSguru USB stick which can be used to perform another installation. You can download whatever image you like and install that using the web-interface.