Latest interface: 0.3.1
Latest system: 010
smokey7722
User

4 posts

Posted on 4 June 2016 @ 00:27edited 01:25 16s
I'm looking to build a new system and could use a hand trying to best design the drive configuration. I am planning on purchasing 24x 8TB HGST HUH728080AL4200 drives connected via an HBA. I'll also most likely have 256GB of ram in the chassis as well. I am looking for a level of protection that isn't going to result in a 50% reduction in usable storage. My original thought was 21 drives in a raidz3 with 3 hot spare though thats pretty risky and from what I understand not the best design for performance. I could do two 10 drive raidz2 with 4 hot spares though if that would be better overall. I am still somewhat new to ZFS and learning so I was hoping I could lean on some veterans here.

Single 21x8TB in Raidz3, 129TB total usable (3 hot spare) (loss of 6 drive capacities in parity/spare)
Two 10x8TB in Raidz2, 57.5TB each, 115TB total usable (4 hot spare) (loss of 8 drive capacities in parity/spare)

Given the large quantity of RAM in the machine I was told not to bother with L2ARC though I would be using a pair of SSD's (mirrored) to support ZIL. Also, as these are 8TB drives, should I be concerned about rebuild times while in a Raidz2 configuration vs the benefit of a third parity of a Raidz3 configuration?

Thanks!!
Aro
User

20 posts

Posted on 4 June 2016 @ 18:05
Very good question, id say put 3x8z2 and ad 1-2 spares via your motherboard connectors(hot spare and any hdd in that perspective can be SATA if SAS is not supported)if you need. What interests me more is how to configure them. I have 8TBx6(z2) HGST HUH728080AL5200 (SAS) now and they are not supported fully. I get no smart information on web interface. What im interested in is the best pool and file system configuration for these hdds. I have selected 4k, not sure if it was right choice. HGST are 512e, so they are 4k native.
smokey7722
User

4 posts

Posted on 5 June 2016 @ 16:58